New Experts Join EFSA’s Scientific Committee and Panels

The European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) has renewed the memberships of eight of its scientific panels and its scientific committee. The 167 scientists, about half of whom are joining EFSA for the first time, will start their three-year term on July 1, 2015.

“We have attracted very highly qualified scientists from across Europe that will make a difference to Europe’s food safety system,” said Tobin Robinson, head of EFSA’s science strategy and coordination department. “Many of the new members come from universities and research institutes, meaning that there is a growing awareness of EFSA’s work in academic circles”.

The authority’s scientific committee and panels are renewed every three years, with current members either replaced or re-appointed. Experts are selected through a rigorous procedure, based on proven scientific excellence and independence. The inaugural meetings of the experts’ three-year mandate will take place at the beginning of July at EFSA’s premises in Parma.

During these meetings, experts are informed about EFSA strategy, risk assessment, the authority’s policy on independence and implementing rules. Each panel will also meet separately to discuss its future work programs and elect its chair and vice-chairs.

EFSA’s management board will appoint some additional experts to replace those who did not accept the appointment or who were not nominated at the March meeting of the management board. Their CVs and declarations of interest will be published by the first inaugural meeting on July 1-2.

More in Regulatory & Research