Fragrance Creators' 2019 Federal Fly-In Promotes Good for People, Perfume, and the Planet


Fragrance Creators Association commenced its federal fly-in today, May 14, 2019, with an awards reception on Capitol Hill honoring 2019 Legislators of the Year, Representatives Jackie Walorski (R-IN-2) and Sanford Bishop (D-GA-2). Fragrance industry leaders applauded Reps. Walorski and Bishop for their support of the Congressional Fragrance Caucus, through which members sent a letter to EPA encouraging the agency to approve newer, greener fragrance ingredients.

“Fragrance uplifts so many lives in so many ways,” said Farah K. Ahmed, president & CEO of Fragrance Creators. “I thank Representatives Bishop and Walorski for their efforts to promote policies that are good for people, perfume, and the planet.”

Fragrance Creators hosts its federal fly-in on Wednesday, May 15, 2019, engaging with legislators on key issues of importance to the industry, including cosmetics reform, Lautenberg Chemical Safety Act (LCSA) implementation, as well as the impact of Chinese and E.U. tariffs and trade policy on fragrance businesses. Association members will meet with Senators Mitch McConnell (R-KY), Kamala Harris (D-CA), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Susan Collins (R-ME), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Todd Young (R-IN), Johnny Isakson (R-GA), and David Perdue (R-GA), and Representatives Frank Pallone Jr. (D-NJ-6), John Shimkus (R-IL-15), Lucy McBath (D-GA-06), Steve Chabot (R-OH-1), Mike Gallagher (R-WI-8), Brad Schneider (D-IL-10), Barry Loudermilk (R-GA-11), and Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ-12).

Related: Fragrance Creators Association Secures Win in Chinese Tariffs

“Our federal fly-in enables us to bring the story of fragrance—our science, our people, our innovation—directly to our representatives on Capitol Hill,” said Robert Weinstein, Ph.D., president & CEO of Robertet USA and Chairman of Fragrance Creators’ Board of Directors. “It’s critical that Members of Congress not only understand our industry’s significant economic impact, but also how fragrance is improving lives every day across this country.”

In March, Fragrance Creators announced the recertification of the Congressional Fragrance Caucus for the 116th Congress. Chaired by Representatives Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ-12) and Barry Loudermilk (R-GA-11), the Fragrance Caucus offers a bipartisan platform for Fragrance Creators members to interface with legislators on priority issues affecting fragrance. First introduced in the 115th Congress in 2018, the Fragrance Caucus is expected to grow, as the industry continues to expand its footprint and Congress works to address cosmetics modernization, LCSA implementation, trade, and more.

More in Regulatory & Research