The Art and Olfaction Awards Announce 2020 Finalists

Seventh Annual Art and Olfaction Award.
Seventh Annual Art and Olfaction Award.

The seventh annual Art and Olfaction Awards will take place virtually on September 17, 2020 from 2 p.m.-2:30 p.m. PDT.  

Related: The Fragrance Foundation Announces 2020 Awards Winner

The finalist are:


  • 20|20, by J. F. Schwarzlose Berlin; Perfumer: Veronique Nyberg (Mane) for J. F. Schwarzlose Berlin, Germany 
  • Accento Overdose, by Xerjoff; Perfumer: Christian Carbonnel (C de la Niche) for Xerjoff, Italy 
  • Amyi VIII, by Amyi; Perfumer: Samuel Moraes (Citratus Symrise) for Amyi, Brazil 
  • Bee, by Zoologist; Perfumer: Cristiano Canali (Argeville) for Zoologist, Canada 
  • Behique, by Renier Perfumes; Perfumer: Christian Carbonnel (C de la Niche) for Renier Perfumes, Czech Republic/Cuba 
  • Ganymede, by Marc-Antoine Barrois; Perfumer: Quentin Bisch (Givaudan) for Marc-Antoine Barrois, France 
  • Love Kills, by MASQUE Milano; Perfumer: Caroline Dumur (IFF) for MASQUE Milano, Italy 
  • Moire, by Les Nez Parfums d'Auteurs; Perfumer: LD Garnier (Independent) for Les Nez, Switzerland 
  • November 2019, by Scent Trunk; Perfumer: Tyler Monk (Luvandus) for Scent Trunk, USA  
  • Post_Hume, by Son Venïn; Perfumer: Rosine Courage (Fragworld/Sozio) for Son Venïn, Norway  
  • Squid, by Zoologist; Perfumer: Celine Barel (IFF) for Zoologist, Canada  
  • Young Hearts, by Bruno Acampora Profumi; Perfumer: Miguel Matos (C de la Niche) for Bruno Acampora, Italy 


  • Absinthe-Minded, by Anka Kuş Parfüm; Perfumer: Ali Erkekli, Australia
  • Bonsai, by House of Matriarch; Perfumer: Christi Meshell, USA Eve, by St. Clair Scents Perfumer: Diane St. Clair, USA 
  • Fall, by Criminal Elements; Perfumer: Corey Newcombe, Australia 
  • Impermanence, by Christèle Jacquemin; Perfumer: Christèle Jacquemin, France 
  • Keman, by DI SER; Perfumers: Rajesh Balkrishnan and Yasuyuki Shinohara, Japan 
  • Nepenthe, by En Voyage Perfumes; Perfumer: Shelley Waddington, USA 
  • Nimbis, by Parallax Olfactory; Perfumer: Linda Sivrican, USA 
  • OBO #302, by OK Fine Fragrances; Perfumer: Steven DeMercado, USA 
  • Perfumista, by Anatole Lebreton; Perfumer: Anatole Lebreton, France  
  • Rasa, by Pomare’s Stolen Perfume; Perfumer: Rachel Binder, USA  
  • Weinstrasse, by Chatillon Lux; Perfumer: Shawn Maher, USA  
  • Wild Child, by CognoScenti; Perfumer: Dannielle Sergent, USA  

Judges for the artisan and independent categories are as listed: 

  • Anahita Mekanik
  • Andreas Wilhelm
  • Ashley Eden Kessler
  • Bibiana Prival
  • Dana El Masri
  • Dawn Spencer Hurwitz
  • Eddie Bulliqi
  • Frederic Jacques
  • Mark Behnke
  • Marta Siembab
  • Sherri Sebastian
  • Yosh Han


  • Cerca (Closer), by Pablo Eduardo Schanton and Alejandro Ros; Perfumer: Various (IFF), Argentina 
  • Jónsi (Hvítblinda / Í blóma / Svartalda), by Jónsi Birgisson; Perfumer: Jónsi Birgisson, Iceland/USA  
  • Notes, by Lauren Jetty; Perfumer: Renske van Vroonhoven (Attic Lab), The Netherlands/UK  
  • Olfactory Labyrinth V. 5: Invisible Footprints, by Maki Ueda; Perfumer: Maki Ueda, Japan
  • Tree VR, by Milica Zec and Winslow Turner Porter III; Perfumer: Laurent Le Guernec (IFF) 

Judges for The Sadakichi Award are as listed:

  • Anna Gerber
  • Darin Klein
  • Deji Bryce Olukotun
  • Peter de Cupere
  • Simon Niedenthal


This award will be given to one outstanding small batch perfume that was 100% perfumer-created, in-house, with no use of outsourced compounding or expansion at any stage of the process.

The judge for the The Aftel Award for Handmade Perfume was selected in a separate blind judging process by:

  • Mandy Aftel
  • Jana Blankenship
  • Jane Larkworthy


This award will be given to one outstanding person who made significant contributions to global public awareness of artisan, independent and experimental practices with scent in 2019.


New to the awards this year, this award will be given to an outstanding person showing proof of exceptional vision with regards to how scent is used, developed, or imagined.

More in Event Coverage