NAFFS Awards Scholarships to Food Science Students Across the US

The National Association of Flavors and Food-Ingredient Systems (NAFFS) is celebrating its eighth year of its annual scholarship awards to outstanding food science students in the U.S.

On September 16, Arthur Curran, the president of NAFFS and Joanne Curran-Celantano presented Alyssa M. Kelley of the University of New Hampshire a scholarship award from NAFFS’ eighth annual scholarship awards program. Kelley is a sophomore nutritional science and university honors student who intends to get her Ph.D. in Food Science after she graduates.

On September 26, Patrick Imburgia, West Coast scholarship chair, presented the West Coast scholarship awards to Sabrina Davis and Brendan Wong from Chapman University.

Al Roth, the chairman of the NAFFS East Coast Scholarship, along with Bob Bauer, executive director, and Diane Davis, associate director, presented NAFFS’ eighth annual scholarship awards on September 30 to Chang Liu and Jessica Louis in the Rutgers University Food Science Program.

Karl Matthews, undergraduate program director, along with Kit Yam, professor/graduate director, and Mukund Karwe, chair of the department of food science, were also on hand to congratulate the students.

An awards presentation to Michigan State undergraduate students Edward Szczygiel and Ryann Gustafson is scheduled to take place on November 1. John Weaver, the Midwest scholarship chair, will present the awards.

Photos of the presentations that took place are available by clicking here

More in Home