MilliporeSigma Honors Students With 2018 Life Science Awards


MilliporeSigma has recognized three graduate students for their innovation in life science, during an award ceremony at its global headquarters in Darmstadt, Germany.

“This year’s Life Science Award winners generated new insights into areas of deep interest to the applied sciences,” said Udit Batra, CEO, MilliporeSigma. “Each winner is not only a good scientist, they are curiously solving the toughest problems in life science.”

Twelve finalists from around the globe were chosen in the categories of bioseparations, food and beverage safety and tumor biology. MilliporeSigma scientists then reviewed the research and awarded a $10,000 grand prize to one student in each category. This year's winners and research topics included:

  • Yu Cai, University of Colorado, “Real-time observations of nanoparticles in filtration membranes,” bioseparations winner.
  • Yanqi Qu, University of Massachusetts Amherst, “Safety and quality analysis of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages using surface-enhanced Raman scattering,” food and beverage safety winner.
  • Jun Ho Lee, Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology, “TonEBP promotes hepatocellular carcinoma development, therapeutic resistance and recurrence via inflammation and liver cancer stem cells,” tumor biology winner.

Additionally, finalists were awarded $2,000 for their research and submission. The finalists included for the food and beverage safety category were:

  • Imanuel Yüce, Justus Liebig University of Giessen, “Development of in situ and in silico tools as well as improvement of classical techniques for structure elucidation in planar chromatography.”
  • Anna Sophia Harrand, Cornell University, “Effects of strain diversity and growth conditions on subsequent bacterial growth.”
  • Shaoakang Zhang, University of Georgia, “Whole genome sequencing, a one-stop platform for foodborne pathogen subtyping, characterization and detection.”

Related: Global Biotech Flavors Market Stays Healthy to 2024 

Finalists for the bioseparation category were:

  • Daniel Burgstaller, University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences Vienna, “Flocculation assisted primary separation and product capture by precipitation – How do we get it continuous?”
  • Ashton Lavoie, North Carolina State University, “Mixed-mode peptide ligands for improved clearance of CHO host cell proteins.”
  • Ujwal Patil, University of Houston, “Real-time monitoring of antibody in column breakthrough.”

Finalists for the tumor biology category were:

  • Jan Lumibao, University of Illinois Urbana, Champaign, “Functional capacity of CHCHD2 in glioblastoma cells expressing EGFRvIII.”
  • Christina Mertens, Goethe-University Frankfurt, “Role of lipocalin-2 from tumor-associated macrophages as alternative iron transporter during tumor growth.”
  • Silvia Duarte Sanmiguel, Ohio State University, “Nanotechnology-based approaches towards elucidating and modulating the immunology of the tumor niche.”
More in Beverage