Art and Olfaction Awards Announces 2019 Finalists

Pf Art Lead 42519

The sixth annual Art and Olfaction Awards has released its finalist list for its independent perfumery award, which will take place in Amsterdam on May 2, 2019.  

Established in 2014 by The Institute for Art and Olfaction, the award is given to scent creators in the categories of independent, artisan and experimental perfume. The award will be given to four perfumes, one experimental scent project and three special awards: the Aftel Award for Handmade Perfume, Contribution to Scent Culture and the Septimus Piesse Visionary Award. Each winner will receive The Golden Pear award, as proof of their achievement in the perfume world.  

Related: [Podcast] Talking Fragrance Property With Saskia Wilson-Brown 

To judge each category, The Institute for Art and Olfaction has compiled a panel of judges including luminaries from the perfume and art world. Members of the  Art and Olfaction Awards 2019 jury include: Daniel Patterson (USA), Harold McGee (USA), Mandy Aftel (USA), Anna Gerber (England), Arabelle Sicardi (USA), Claire Evans (USA), Darin Klein (USA), Deji Bryce Olukotun (USA), Simon Niedenthal (Sweden), David Apel (USA), Denyse Beaulieu (France), Eddie Bulliqi (England), Jeanne Doré (France), Katie Puckrik (England), Christopher Gordon (USA), Hank Jenkins (USA), Marta Siembab (Poland), Matthias Janke (Germany), Spyros Drosopoulos (Netherlands), Ulrike Knöll (Germany), Andy Tauer (Switzerland), Bibiana Prival (USA), Frederic Jacques (USA/France), Harald Lubner (Germany), Mark Behnke (USA) and Rachel Syme (USA).

Artisan Category Finalists

by OSM (USA)
Perfumer: Kyle Mott-Kannenberg
With: Michael Mott-Kannenberg

Carré Blanc
by The Zoo (USA)
Perfumers: Christophe Laudamiel, Andrew Everett

Gardener's Glove
by St. Clair Scents (USA)
Perfumer: Diane St. Clair

by Hiram Green Perfumes (Netherlands)
Perfumer: Hiram Green

by April Aromatics (Germany)
Perfumer: Tanja Bochnig

L'Anima Della Rosa
by Auphorie (Malaysia)
Perfumers: Eugene Au Zhe You, Emrys Au Zhe Min

La Bibliothèque
by NeZ ZeN (Belgium)
Perfumer: Romain Pantoustier
With: Aurélie Gillon

Powder & Dust
by SP Parfums (Germany)
Perfumer: Sven Pritzkoleit
With: Yana Lysenko Tommelise

Rosé All Daé
by Gallagher Fragrances (USA)
Perfumer: Daniel Gallagher

by Jade Daisy Perfumes (Puerto Rico)
Perfumer: Stacey Lazzara

Independent Category Finalists

by Sarah Baker Perfumes (UK)
Creative Director: Sarah Baker
Perfumer: Sarah McCartney

Birds In Paradise
by Régime des Fleurs (USA)
Creative Directors: Alia Raza, Ezra Woods
Perfumer: Pierre Negrin

by American Perfumer (USA)
Creative Director: Dave Kern
Perfumer: Dawn Spencer Hurwitz

by Cūrata (Canada)
Creative Director: Serena Rogers
Perfumer: Beckie Sheloske

Régime des Fleurs (USA)
Creative Directors: Alia Raza, Ezra Woods
Perfumer: Mathieu Nardin

Migration de L’Arbre
by Senyokô (France)
Creative Directors: Joseph Berthion, Emilie Berthion
Perfumer: Euan McCall

Rake & Ruin
by BeauFort London (UK)
Creative Director: Leo Crabtree
Perfumer: Julie Dunkley

Red Shoes
by Jacques Fath Parfums (France)
Creative Director: Rania Naim
Perfumer: Cécile Zarokian

Rich Mess
by Ryan Richmond (USA)
Creative Director: Ryan Richmond
Perfumer: Christophe Laudamiel

by MIRUMest (Italy)
Creative Director: Fulvio Fronzoni
Perfumer: Dominique Moellhausen

Sadakichi Award Finalists

Diary of Smells: Glass Ceiling
by Josely Carvalho (Brazil)
Perfumer: Leandro Petit

Tangible Scents: Composition of Rose in the Air
by Maki Ueda (Japan / Netherlands)
Perfumer: Maki Ueda

Every Word Was Once an Animal
by Carla Bengtson (USA)
Perfumer: Carla Bengston

Smell Forward
by Priscille Jotzu (Switzerland)
Perfumer: Andreas Wilhelm

by Miguel Matos (Portugal)
Pefumer: Christian Carbonnel

More in Event Coverage