Most Popular in:

Event Coverage

Email This Item! Print This Item!

Around the Industry: CSA Roundtable, SFC Annual Meeting

Posted: May 29, 2007

The Chemical Sources Association’s (CSA) Roundtable 2007 was held in conjunction with the Society of Flavor Chemists (SFC) Annual Meeting on May 17 at the Sheraton Newark Airport Hotel in Newark, New Jersey. With 18 suppliers participating and more than 110 attendees, CSA’s Roundtable proved successful and provided a varied cross-section of ingredients and suppliers.

The exhibiting companies were: A.M. Todd/Moore Ingredients, Advanced Biotech, Biolandes, Cargill, Oxford Chemicals/Charkit, Danisco Flavor & Fragrance Ingredients, Del-Val Food Ingredients, Frutarom, Givaudan/Vigon International, Global Essence, IFF, Lionel Hitchen USA Ltd., MCI Miritz Citrus Ingredients, O'Laughlin Industries, Polarome International, SAFC, Virginia Dare and WEN International.

The roundtable sessions took place from 10 AM through 4:30 PM with a break for lunch. In addition, Chris Williams (WILD Flavors) was elected to serve another year as president of CSA.

Concurrent with the CSA Roundtable, the SFC held its board of directors and committee chairpersons meetings. At 4:45, the SFC held its annual membership meeting, which included the election of officers. The new officers are as follows: Joan Harvey (president), Ken Kraut (vice president), Steve Ruocco (treasurer), Jack Fastag (secretary) and Mariano Gascon (chairperson of the board).

The social part of the event began with the cocktail hour at 5:30, which led into the dinner. During dinner, the SFC presented 25-year anniversary pins to the following members: Ed Albaugh, Remedios Cruz, Kenneth Dougherty, Yolanta Downey, Richard Feagin, William Huth, Gary Link, Ronald Long, Naoki Morimoto, Brian Mullin, Charito Palencia and Jurgen Scheide.